Home » Special Honors for Service & Outstanding Achievements » Noel Ross Strader Memorial Award Winners

Noel Ross Strader Memorial Award Winners

This award perpetuates the work and memory of a longtime University of Houston professor and administrator in journalism. The award will be made only when meritorious candidates are brought forth.

Recipients are a full-time teacher/adviser in campus journalism and must have exercised the principle of freedom of the press “at some risk to personal or professional welfare” or have made a “major contribution to the graphic or other physical progress of a campus publication.”

2021: Dr. Jill Morris, Frostburg State University

2020: Max McCoy, Emporia State University

2019: Scott Morris

2017: Melinda Shelton, Xavier University of Louisiana

2016: Tel Bailliet, Tulane University

2015: Michael Smith, Palm Beach Atlantic University

2013: Lawrence Beery, Grand Valley State University

2006: Jennifer Schartz, Great Bend, Kansas

2003: John Schmitt, Southwest Texas State University

1999: Rose Sergi, Middlesex Community College

1998: Paul DeBolt, Contra Costa College

1997: Joseph T. LeBlanc, Northern Essex Community College

1994: Glenn Robinson, Eastern Illinois University

1992: Nils Rosdahl, North Idaho College

1992: George H. Miller, University of South Florida

1991: Linda J. Webster, University of Arkansas at Monticello

1988: Jo-Ann Huff Albers, Western Kentucky University

1981: Louis E. Ingelhart, Ball State University

1978: Arthur M. Sanderson, University of South Florida

1977: Jack E. Backer, Indiana University