Apple Awards 2009

Thirteen college media organizations captured top honors at the David L. Adams Apple Awards during the 2009 Spring National College Media Convention in New York City. The awards, long a feature of the spring conference attended by more than 1,200 student journalists and their advisers, have been renamed to honor Adams, a longtime College Media Advisers stalwart and adviser at Indiana University, who died in 2007. 

Best Two-Year Tabloid Newspaper

The Collegiate, Grand Rapids Community College

Editor: Lonnie Allen

Adviser: Scott McNabb

Best Two-Year Broadsheet Newspaper

The Sentinel, North Idaho College

Editor: Jake Donahue

Adviser: Nils Rosdahl

Best Four-Year Non-Daily Tabloid Newspaper

The Ithacan, Ithaca College

Editor: Erin Geismar

Adviser: Michael Serino

Best Four-Year Daily Tabloid Newspaper

The Daily of the University of Washington, University of Washington

Editor: Sarah Jeglum

Adviser: Kristin Millis

Best Four-Year Non-Daily Broadsheet Newspaper

Northwest Missourian, Northwest Missouri State University

Editor: Evan Young

Adviser: Laura Widmer

Best Four-year Daily Broadsheet Newspaper (TIE)

The Oklahoma Daily, University of Oklahoma

Editor: Meredith Simons

Adviser: Judy Gibbs Robinson

Iowa State Daily, Iowa State University

Editor: Chris Conetzkey

Advisers: Mark Witherspoon and Annette Forbes

Best Yearbook, Up to 304 Pages

Selah Yearbook, Liberty University

Editor: Sabrena Carter

Adviser: Carrie Barnhouse

Best Yearbook, 304+ Page

Arbutus, Indiana University

Editor: Meg Woods

Adviser: Nancy Comiskey

Best General Interest Magazine

Tusk, Cal State Fullerton

Editor: Havel Lodevico

Adviser: Jeff Bradley

Best Literary/Arts Magazine

American River Review, American River College

Editors: Danielle Gorden and Brett Kauffman

Advisers: Betty Nelson and Craig Martinez and David Merson

Best Radio Broadcast

Radio Humber 96.9 FM, Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning

Producers Shauna-Leigh McCreedy and Andre Jeremiah

Adviser: Paul Cross

Best Television Broadcast

Humber TV News, Humber Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning (Toronto, Canada)

Producers: Sean Casey and Karolina Walczak

Adviser: Joy Crysdale