Apple Awards 2008

Twelve college media organizations captured top honors at the David L. Adams Apple Awards during the 2008 Spring National College Media Convention, attended by more than 1,300 advisers and students, in New York City. The awards, long a feature of the spring conference, have been renamed to honor Adams, a longtime College Media Advisers stalwart and adviser at Indiana University, who died in 2007.

Best Two-Year Tabloid Newspaper

The Collegiate, Grand Rapids Community College

Editor: Lonnie Allen

Adviser: Steve Fox

Best Two-Year Broadsheet Newspaper

The Sentinel, North Idaho College

Editor: Josh Rasmussen

Adviser: Nils Rosdahl

Best Four-Year Non-Daily Tabloid Newspaper

The Ithacan, Ithaca College

Editor: Erica Hendry

Adviser: Michael Serino

Best Four-Year Daily Tabloid Newspaper

The Daily of the University of Washington, University of Washington

Editor: Sarah Jeglum

Adviser: Kristin Millis

Best Four-Year Non-Daily Broadsheet Newspaper

Northwest Missourian, Northwest Missouri State University

Editor: Kristine Hotop

Adviser: Laura Widmer

Best Four-Year Daily Broadsheet Newspaper

Indiana Daily Student, Indiana University

Editor: Carrie Ritchie

Adviser: Nancy Comiskey

Best Yearbook, Up to 304 Pages

Selah Yearbook, Liberty University

Editor: Sabrena Carter

Adviser: Carrie Barnhouse

Best Yearbook, 304+ Pages

Arbutus Yearbook, Indiana University

Editor: Lauren Cooper

Advisers: Dave Adams and Nancy Comiskey

Best General Interest Magazine

Echo Magazine, Columbia College Chicago

Editor: Temple Hemphill

Adviser: Sharon Bloyd-Peshkin

Best Literary/Arts Magazine

American River Review, American River College

Editors: James Wooden and Lauren Payne

Advisers: Betty Nelson and David Merson

Best Radio Broadcast

@Humber (Radio Humber 96.9 FM), Humber College

Producers: Jake Eddy, Joshua Gold-Smith, Anthony Peddie-Vasquez and Avril Sequeira

Adviser: Judy Charles

Best Television Broadcast

Humber TV News, Humber College (Toronto, Canada)

Producer: Carrie Trowson

Adviser: Mike Karapita