2021 Film and Audio Festival Winners

CMA is proud to share the results of the Film and Audio Festival. Winners were announced at #collegemedia21, the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention, held virtually Oct. 14-16. 

CMA would like to give a heartfelt thank you to Paul Glover (Henderson State University) for chairing this immensely successful festival this year.


  • First Place: Raney Wilson, Turn That Dial Magic 88 Style, North Carolina State University
  • Second Place: Paige Jennings, B-Rated (Gremlin), Northwest Missouri State University
  • Third Place: Mario Casamassima, Maurizo Casamassima, Sophia Martinez, Susana Martinez, Nature Is a Treasure, Miami Dade College – Eduardo J. Padron Campus

Audio Creative

  • First Place: Urbana Literary & Arts Magazine Obsession S2 EP10, Miami-Dade College
  • Second Place: The WOLF On Air Imaging, University of West Georgia
  • Third Place: Tanner Frost Vaccination Ads, Tanner Frost 3 Vaccination Ads, Buena Vista

Audio Documentary

  • First Place: Gabriela Sepulveda, Mindfulness Mid Pandemic, Santa Clara University
  • Second Place: Omar Alcorta, Same Dream, Different Shoes, Buena Vista University
  • Third Place: Morgan Krull, Final Farming Story, Buena Vista University


  • First Place: Hannah Perala, Remember, University of South Carolina
  • Second Place: Jack Diefenbach & 1080C staff, The Sale, University of South Carolina
  • Third Place: Nathaniel Henley, Stairs, Southeast Missouri State University

Best DJ Personality

  • First Place: Rosie Rose  – WKNC 88.1 FM, Rainbow Riot, North Carolina State University
  • Second Place: Dalton James – WOLF Radio On-Air, University of West Georgia
  • Third Place: Zane Culjat – KXCV 90.5 FM, Apr12 Aircheck, Northwest Missouri State University

Long Documentary

  • First Place: David Baird, Brown Sugar, Anderson University
  • Second Place: Raj Paul Ram Ghusar, God Save Cab Sauv, San Francisco State University
  • Third Place: Tristan Maglunog, One Flame, California State University, Fullerton

Short Documentary

  • First Place: Sarah Earnshaw, Patsy’s Mine Closure, Weber State University
  • Second Place: Tristan Maglunog, Stop Asian hate, California State University, Fullerton
  • Third Place: NCC News Spotlight Orange Team with Caleb Britt & Ryan Arbogast, In Black and White, Syracuse University

Video Feature Package

  • First Place: Rocky Mountain Student Media, Totally 80’s Pizza, Colorado State University
  • Second Place: Paisley Skeith NCC Newhouse School, Emmy Award Winning SU Student Lives in “Concrete Penthouse”, Syracuse University
  • Third Place: Rambler TV, September 11, 2001 20th Anniversary Never Forget, Texas Wesleyan

Video News Package

  • First Place: Lariat TV News, I-35 Overpass, Baylor University
  • Second Place: Ricky Sayer & NCC News Newhouse School, Restaurant Workers left off Vaccine Eligibility List, Syracuse
  • Third Place: Rambler TV, Winter Damages on Campus, Texas Wesleyan

Video Newscast

  • First Place: Your Newsroom – The George-Anne Media Group, Your Newsroom with Andy Cole and Amara Lewis, Georgia Southern University
  • Second Place: Lariat TV News Today, Lariat TV News Today, Baylor University
  • Third Place: Al Dia, Al Dia – Destino 2020, California State University, Fullerton

Video Sports Package

  • First Place: Rocky Mountain Student Media, Athletes in Tandem, Colorado State University
  • Second Place: Viking Fusion, Pole Vaulting, Berry College
  • Third Place: Lindsey Moppert – Owl Sports, COVID’s Silver Lining, Temple University