2020 Film and Audio Festival Winners

CMA is proud to share the results of the Film and Audio Festival. Winners were announced at #collegemedia20, the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention, held virtually Oct. 22-24. 

CMA would like to give a heartfelt thank you to Paul Glover (Henderson State University) and Tom Grant (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College) for chairing this immensely successful festival this year.

Congratulations to all the Film and Audio Festival winners! 


  • First Place: Mason McGrew, Buddy’s Christmas Story, Buena Vista University
  • Second Place: Ellen Pu and Nick Langenfeld, DisOriented: Cheap Labor and Exclusion Acts, The University of Texas at Dallas
  • Third Place: Maurizio Casamassima and Estefano Reyes, José the Clown, Miami Dade College – Eduardo J. Padrón Campus

Audio Creative

  • First Place: Max Fredrick and Gideon Patrick, Script to Screen , University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
  • Second Place: Jackson Witsell and Zachary Turner, HollyWOLF studios Podcast, University of West Georgia
  • Third Place: Timothy Oglesby, Donovan Taggart and Ethan Orphe, Beat Rhymes and Opinions Podcast, University of West Georgia

Audio Documentary

  • First Place: Rachel Ryan, Barista Bellyaches, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
  • Second Place: Marvin  Dunmeyer, Marvin Dunmeyer: Personal Narrative, York College of Pennsylvania
  • Third Place: Isabelle Haas and Leena Grip, Immigration Story, Buena Vista University

Best DJ Performance

  • First Place: Ethan Schmidt, Ethan Schmidt, Henderson State University
  • Second Place: Kaleigh Whatley, Kaleigh Whatley, University of West Georgia


  • First Place: Mason McGrew, Justin Sampson and Guy Tannenbaum, Clean Up Duty, Buena Vista University
  • Second Place: Zachary Hess, Chronic Dissonance, Buena Vista University
  • Third Place: Student Video Productions Staff, Student Video Productions Staff: Creative, Colorado State University

Long Documentary 

  • First Place: Behind the Handle Cinematic Documentary Crew, Behind the Handle, University of Guelph-Humber
  • Second Place: Franklin E.S. Harris Jr., Danian Douglas and Somers T. Steelman, Unexpected Bond, Syracuse University
  • Third Place: Jerry Burch, Noah’s Story: Arizona’s “Red For Ed”, Glendale Community College
  • Honorable Mention: Veronica Backer-Peral and Anastasia Glushneva, Election 2020: Students Take Action Against Systemic Racism, Loyola Marymount University


  • First Place: Owl Sports Staff, Cherry Team Show 2/27/20, Temple University
  • Second Place: Lariat TV News staff, Global News Relay, Baylor University
  • Third Place: Justin Stevens, Ben Ezzy, Michelle Ng-Reyes, Gianna Sanchez, Tommy Fletcher, UMTV Covid-19 Special Show, University of Miami

Short Documentary

  • First Place: Jenny Nguyen, Saigon’s Daughter, Marywood University
  • Second Place: Madeline Powell, I Am My Crown: Natural Hair, Syracuse University
  • Third Place: Gabriel Rhoden, Home Grown, University of North Alabama
  • Honorable Mention: Marvin Dunmeyer, A Family in Quarantine, York College of Pennsylvania

Video Feature Package

  • First Place: Jessica Stallard, Bakery, Missouri Western State University
  • Second Place: Lydia Blackstone, Will Kronsberg, Frank Martinez, A Barber Shop Like No Other, University of South Carolina
  • Third Place: Krista McAllister, Krista McAllister Video Feature Package, Colorado State University
  • Honorable Mention: Kate Mazade, National Veterans Resource Center, Syracuse University

Video News Package

  • First Place: “Zachary Hess, Justin Sampson, Jordyn Daggs-Olson, Guy Tannenbaum, BVU Cuts Theater Program, Buena Vista University
  • Second Place: Ward Jolles and Vincent Arceo, I Can’t Breathe Rally Turns Violent, University of South Carolina
  • Third Place: Chase Bachman, Ferry Service Adapting in Wake of Coronavirus, Bowling Green State University

Video Sports Package

  • First Place: Jackson Neill, Jackon Neill Drone Piece, Temple University
  • Second Place: Chase Bachman, Angela Perry Leads the Falcons, Bowling Green State University
  • Third Place: Connor Davidson, No Fans, Appalachian State University