2019 Film and Audio Festival Winners

CMA is proud to share the results of the Film Festival. Winners were announced at #collegemedia19, the ACP/CMA Fall National College Media Convention, held Oct. 31 – Nov. 3, 2019 in Washington D.C. 

Congratulations to all the film festival winners! 


  • First Place: Jake Smith and TJ Oleson, Appalachian Animation, Appalachian State University
  • Second Place: Mason McGrew, Spark of Creativity, Buena Vista University

Audio Creative

  • First Place: The WOLF Internet Radio, Imagining, University of West Georgia
  • Second Place: Ethan Orphe, Anistalgia, University of West Georgia

Audio Documentary

  • First Place: Anita Weiner, Singing May Help Seniors Live Healthier, Middlesex Community College
  • Second Place: Anita Weiner, The Matzoh Challenge, Middlesex Community College
  • Third Place: Dylon Klubertanz, Rich the Barber, University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh


  • First Place: Nainoa Andrade, Punahou Carnival, University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • Second Place: Wyatt Duemler, Finger Guns, Berry College
  • Third Place: Olivia Williams and Jake Smith, App All Night Promo, Appalachian State University
  • Honorable Mention: Daniel Colella, Summer Storm, College of Charleston

Feature Video

  • First Place: Paige Mathison, Gerry Stecca, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Second Place: Abril Casteneda, Scott Fleemer and Jake Helmen, Taus Get Yolked, Ball State University
  • Third Place: Tyree Jakes, Lloyd the Cat, Ball State University
  • Honorable Mention: Kennedy Dendy, Brooklyn and Bailey, Baylor University

Long Documentary 

  • First Place: Sean Bull, Parks and Landmarks, Madison College
  • Second Place: Mason McGrew, Guy Tannenbaum & Nicholas Henrichs, Guns in the Heartland, Buena Vista University
  • Third Place: Nicole Kern, L. Eleanor Mathers & the Senior Design Team, Where Champions are Born, Florida Tech
  • Honorable Mention: Kynan Marlin, Fight of a Lifetime, Arizona State University

Video Newscast

  • First Place: Sarah Metts, Vito Malacari, Erin Steffe, Alyssa Mancuso, Ben Zimmerman, Sean Rodman, Sean McGeehan, Celena Sanchez, Tom Hughes, Owl Sports Update 11/15/2018, Temple University
  • Second Place: Al Dia Border Team, Al Dia: A Border Emergency,  California State University Fullerton
  • Third Place: Ira David, Rob Gelber, Sadie Maddock, Saniye Wilson, Appalachian Weekly News, Appalachian State University

News Package

  • First Place: Kennedy Dendy, Oakman Found Not Guilty, Baylor University
  • Second Place: Ward Jolles and Spencer Buckler, Beto O’Rourke USC Visit | SGTV News 4, University of South Carolina
  • Third Place: The Ball State Daily News, “Snowball fight”, Ball State University
  • Honorable Mention: Johnathan Carter and Dan Gilliam, Technician Weekly Recap, April 12, 2019, North Carolina State University

Short Documentary

  • First Place: Kynan Marlin, Life’s Curveball — the Stallard Story, Arizona State University
  • Second Place: Kylie Procita, Auralee Mayfield, Alexander Puga & Jordan Vescio, Farm Truck 912, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Third Place: Kayla Drake, Former Olympian Balances Parenthood and College, Lindenwood University
  • Honorable Mention: Natalie Wade, Braids, DePaul University

Sports Video

  • First Place: Sarah Metts, Erin Steffe and Alyssa Mancuso, Finding a Home: Temple TUFF, Temple University
  • Second Place: Ali McCann, Maria Cantu, and Brianna Lucidonio, To Kane: From your Temple Football Family, Temple University
  • Third Place: Noah Syverson, I try and Catch the Ball, Berry College
  • Honorable Mention: Raven Watch Staff, Raven Watch, Anderson University 

Best DJ Personality

  • First Place: Gabrielle Tigner, “Gabby Speaks”, University of West Georgia
  • Second Place: Andrew Haese, “Andrew Haese Aircheck”, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh
  • Third Place: Jordan Hall, “Jordan”, University of West Georgia
  • Honorable Mention: Omar Alacorta, Omar Alacorta, Buena Vista University

Promotional Audio

  • First Place: Ayres Harrison, California State University – Bakersfield